New Lenny Moss Novel: Slim to None

From author Tim Sheard’s web site:

The Lenny Moss novels are filled with wonderful stories. Amazing, moving, inspiring stories.
Why?
Not because I wrote them. They are wonderful stories because they tell of the lives of working class men and women toiling in the American health factory, aka, “the hospital”. They are wonderful stories because they are your stories. They are about your struggles and hopes and fears; of your triumphs and losses.
They are about the solidarity and community spirit of blue collar communities. They are about the courage and dedication of union activists who stand up when someone is beaten down and say,  “Wait, that is not right. That is not just. That must not go on. We have to do something about it, and we have to do  it together, because divided we fall, united, we stand tall.”
These are the Lenny Moss novels. They are not “fiction,” because they tell important truths. They reveal important  social facts. They explore important issues. What is a “fiction” writer? A “storyteller?” A storyteller is a reporter of souls. A storyteller is a psychologist of the  human spirit. A storyteller is a historian of human communities. A chronicler of smoldering loves and visceral fears.  Of feet planted on the ground holding up the world.
Storytellers are honest in their recollections of real people in the muck and mire and mine fields of wage slavery. They are witnesses to our world.
The Lenny Moss novels. Written with love and passion for working men and women everywhere.
Timothy Sheard, Spring, 2010

About Tim Sheard: “After working as a nurse, mainly in critical care, for close to twenty years, I began got to thinking about the patients I’d cared for and about the
co-workers I’d left behind looking for greener pastures. I wanted to tell the world about these wonderful, frail, noble, heroic people. About what they
endured and how they triumphed. And most of all, about what they meant to me, having never told them so at the time.
So at the ripe age of forty I began writing short pieces about my nursing experience. Sold a bunch of them to nursing journals and mainstream

Tim Sheard, photo by Joe Milder

magazines. It was exciting to see them in print. It made me feel connected in a weird sort of way.
After that I collected a whole bunch of stories into a collection, with a spine that traced my personal development, such as it was, plus my
marriage to my dear Mary and the birth and changes of my two fine sons, Matthew and Christopher. I tried for several years to sell that collection,
titled, The Cup of Human Kindness, but never landed an agent or a publisher.
My wife was a big mystery fan. She got me reading Holmes and Miss Marple and Nero Wolfe and lots of other characters. I decided to try my
hand at fiction, writing short mystery stories. There were many rejections, but also quite a few acceptances. I had a gig for while selling 350 word
Five Minute Mysteries to one of the weekly tabloids. That was a terrific learning experience, because I had to deliver a tight story on deadline. I sold
around 30 stories until they abandoned the format.
Finally, I decided to take the plunge and try a crime novel. But who would be my protagonist? I’d never worked in law enforcement, so I was
unprepared to write a police procedural. Had never worked as a private eye – that would have come off equally unrealistic. All my work experience
was in the hospital, so it had to be a medical mystery. And it would have to be an amateur sleuth; it was the only option left.. . .”  Read more here.

Leave a Reply

